Ways to cope with loss

Healing pic
People react differently to loss.
DABDA are the five stages of coping with loss, but they don’t always happen in this particular order and also vary in amounts of time for each individual.
These stages are:
1) Denial
2) Anger
3) Bargaining
4) Depression
5) Acceptance

There are many ways in which one can try and cope. Here are a few that may help.
1) Express yourself.
Talking is often a good way to soothe painful emotions.
2) Allow yourself to feel sad.
3) Keep your routine up.
4) Sleep.
Emotional strain can make you very tired.
5) Eat Healthy
6) Avoid things that “numb” the pain like alcohol.
It will make you feel worse once the numbness wears off.
7) If you feel it is right for you, counseling can be a positive option.

If you feel you need any help, your General Practitioner is a good place to start. They can give you advice and refer you to support services or other helpful options.